Speaking of 60s pop music…

We lost a great voice in 60s pop this past week. Ellie Greenwich passed away on August 26th after suffering a heart attack in a New York hospital.

(Courtesy of elliegreenwich.com)

(Courtesy of elliegreenwich.com)

Though her death is unfortunate, listening to the music she left behind is anything but depressing. Of course, when I hear the word ‘pop’ thrown around today, I immediately conjure up images of Britney Spears or the Backstreet Boys or some other over-produced music put together by a talentless pretty face, but pop music wasn’t always this way. Ellie’s music is fun, fresh, spunky, spirited, and danceable. Take a listen to her song “I Want You To Be My Baby”:

Her music also inspired many artists. The Parenthetical Girls, a band I have intrigued with for a little over a year,  even named a song for her:

You can download “A Song for Ellie Greenwich” here for free.

I am still waiting for the day when I can see The Parenthetical Girls play a show. I think they’d be quite theatrical.

0 Responses to “Speaking of 60s pop music…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

