Beirut… and a new toy!

Beirut + WOOM – Music Hall of Williamsburg – July 5th

I checked out Beirut last night for the third time. Of course, the sound at MHOW doesn’t compare to that of the synagogue where I last saw them play, but it was still a pretty good show all things considered – especially since it has been a while since their last show. You can read a full review of the show here, but I also thought I’d share a few audio clips with you since I got a new toy!

Check it out:

Yep. So that happened. In the future, I’m hoping to draw attention to the first half of this blog’s name, Sonic, but including audio clips from the show and even a few exit interviews with random audience members. We’ll see what happens!

So I am obviously still learning how this thing works (I admit I haven’t read the instruction manual at all yet), and my audio editing software is truly lacking, but here are a few clips from last night’s show to supplement the review over on Brooklyn Vegan.

An intro to the evening:

As it turns out, I was definitely pleasantly surprised by WOOM. Their sound is refreshing – something of a mixture of The xx (due to the great male-female vocals) and tUnE-yArDs (thanks to its eclectic nature and singer Sara Magenheimer’s adorable but fierce presence). I definitely look forward to hearing more from this dynamic duo. (They just released their debut album on Ba Da Bing today!)

Then, here’s a portion of “Nantes” from Beirut and a little bit of a teaser from Zach Condon about a new album in the works:

A special thanks to David who helped me figure out how to get the audio properly streaming! Success!

0 Responses to “Beirut… and a new toy!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

