South Carolina deep in my heart

I recently had the chance to check out the dreamy lo-fi husband/wife duo Tennis over at the Cake Shop (write-up here). It’s hard to believe that last week marked their first time playing in New York and harder to believe that they weren’t headlining the show, and I don’t think I was alone in this assessment. In a strange perversion of the norm, there were far more people present for Tennis (the first opener) than for the subsequent two bands – Family Portrait and Ducktails.

I think this one is fairly self-explanatory

Their story is pretty cute, too. I absolutely love the band’s description on last.fm, which reads:

The idea for the project began one day a couple of years ago when Alaina made fun of Patrick for playing Tennis in college, which is an elitist rich man’s sport. A year later the two fled their hometown Denver to spend eight months sailing and exploring the North Atlantic coast. During their adventures they began writing music together documenting their experiences.

Take a listen to their recent single, “South Carolina.” (video slightly NSFW, but nothing crazy)

I’m not going to lie. As a South Carolina native, this one holds a special place in my heart.

[Note: Sorry for the unexplained hiatus. At long last, Verizon has finally decided to restore Internet service to my apartment. Hooray!]

0 Responses to “South Carolina deep in my heart”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

