In the Bedroom (with Bradford Cox)

I’m not sure why I’m only just getting wind of this (and this, this, and this). Apparently, Bradford Cox has had some time on his hands this fall.

At last night’s show at the Bell House, he said:

I got off tour with Deerhunter, I got home, and I didn’t have anything to do.  I started feeling wild – like Cabin Fever, you know? I watched two seasons of Law and Order: Criminal Intent… in like 52 hours. I wasn’t returning phone calls, and it was dark. So I get out my little recording machine and I made some recordings.

Except, well he was underselling himself a bit by his choice of words. In the days leading up to Thanksgiving, he posted four – yes four – Atlas Sound albums on his site – available to download for free! That’s 49 songs, if you’re counting.

Cover art for Bedroom Databank, Vol. 4

Initially, the release of his Bedroom Databank was met with some controversy from Sony.

The day after he had finished posting all four volumes, Cox apparently received several copyright-infringement e-mails from Sony Music, ordering him to delete the download links to volumes 2, 3 and 4 due to:

Unauthorized reproduction and distribution of copyrighted sound recordings owned or exclusively distributed by Sony Music

This is of course odd given the fact that neither Deerhunter (4AD) nor Atlas Sound (Kranky) are signed to Sony. The only possible infringement was the small handful of cover songs (Bob Dylan/The Band, Kurt Vile, and Royal Trux).

Cox responded to the email by voicing his frustrations on his site:

Apparently Sony Music owns my bedroom. Feel free to call or email and let them know what you think. I can understand them requesting for me to remove a cover but the only one I can imagine that happening with is Dylan. Which was on Vol. 1. Which was not deleted.

Sony has since claimed that the whole thing was some kind of weird misunderstanding.

So get to it, kids. After hearing a number of the new songs previewed last night and sampling some of the recordings, I am eager to hear more. With its brief instrumental interludes, warm lo-fi recording quality, and intimately revealing lyrics, Cox’s Bedroom Databank collection has much in common with (dare I say it?) what is perhaps my favorite album – The Microphone’s The Glow, pt. 2. Good stuff indeed for the cold, dark, wet, and windy days to come.

[A full review of last night’s show will soon be available on Brooklyn Vegan. I just have to write it…]

0 Responses to “In the Bedroom (with Bradford Cox)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

