In case you’re under a rock…

The new Radiohead album, The King of Limbs, dropped today (a day earlier than promised) via the band’s website.

Like many big indie bands, somehow I never spent much time with Radiohead. Sure, I’ve listened to songs or albums here and there, and I’ve always been aware of their talent, but for whatever reason, I’ve never really spent quality time with them. But I think this time, I’m giving in… and I’m kind of excited about it.

So many indie heavyweights are clearly confined to phases. You’ve got your Bright Eyes phase. Death Cab for Cutie. The Decemberists. Spoon. The Shins. Heck, if you’re honest with yourself, you may have even had a Coldplay phase (I know I did).

But with Radiohead, it’s different. Radiohead isn’t a phase. How is it possible that the same people who went gaga over OK Computer in 1997 are still salivating over The King of Limbs but wouldn’t be caught dead listening to anything else from their middle school years? What makes Radiohead different? What makes them eternally hip and forever untouchable? Why are they the standard? It really is fascinating. Let me know what you think!

What would give the staff at Pitchfork more pleasure – a searing review of the new album or a fawning 10.0? They may love to stir up controversy, but something tells me there’s simply no way The King of Limbs will get below a 9.6.

Take a look at “Lotus Flower,” the promising new single from the album:

0 Responses to “In case you’re under a rock…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

