Big news, pt. 2: A brief interview with Owen Ashworth

So it’s official. After thirteen years of playing, recording, and touring under the moniker Casiotone for the Painfully Alone, Owen Ashworth will be playing his last show (as CFTPA)  on December 5th of this year… but that doesn’t mean he’s quitting music for good.

Owen Ashworth of Casiotone for the Painfully Alone (Photo Thomas J. Hartnett)

Here’s what he had to say on his website:

You may have heard that I’ve decided to end Casiotone for the Painfully Alone. I’d just like to clarify that this doesn’t mean that I’m quitting music. I love writing & recording songs, & I hope to make lots more records in my lifetime. But, after nearly thirteen years of being the dude from Casiotone for the Painfully Alone, I’m ready for a fresh start & a new challenge. So, after December 5, 2010 (the thirteen year anniversary of my first show), I’m throwing out the old songs & I’m trying something new. I’ll have more news about new projects and plans in the coming months.

*Read the rest of Owen’s open letter here, on his site.

I caught up with Owen before his recent show at Monster Island basement to get the inside scoop, and here’s what he said…

Check out the final tour dates here.
(He plays two shows in NY – one at Mercury Lounge on 10/14 and the other at Monster Island Basement Ridgewood Masonic Temple on 10/15).

1 Response to “Big news, pt. 2: A brief interview with Owen Ashworth”


  1. 1 Jordan July 30, 2010 at 1:41 am

    cooool! how did you get the interview?


Leave a comment




"He considered music a liberating force: it liberated him from loneliness, introversion, the dust of the library; it opened the door of his body and allowed his soul to step out into the world to make friends."

- Milan Kundera's The Unbearable Lightness of Being